Awards recognise leadership in education

Decrease font size
Increase font size
Print this page
Email to friend
Share to Facebook
Share to Twitter
Home > Media > News > Awards recognise leadership in education
Awards recognise leadership in education

Educational excellence in Tasmanian Catholic schools featured recently at the Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) Tasmanian Awards 2015 presentation.

Nine educational leaders who had made a significant contribution to the improvement of student outcomes in education in Tasmania, were honoured at the awards run by Australian professional organisation for educational leaders across all sectors and levels of education, ACEL.

Of the recipients, seven came from Catholic schools.
ACEL TAS Branch President Anne Foale said the rewards were highly regarded nationally and a good opportunity to celebrate leadership in education.

“The teaching profession is not always forth coming in celebrating their own important work and this is why ACEL sees the celebration and recognition of quality leadership in the field of education as one of its important activities,” she said.

“At last month’s ACEL National conference in Sydney, the Governor General referred to our children as the ‘nation’s treasure’ and stressed how important the work and dedication of those who devote their career to nurturing this ‘treasure’ is,” Mrs Foale said.

Tasmanian Catholic school ACEL award recipients for 2015 were: Lindsey Hills (St Patrick’s College, Launceston), Jordana Schmidt and Jacqui Lawless (St James Catholic College, Cygnet), Simon Lane (Corpus Christi Catholic School, Bellerive), Chris Hoare (Guilford Young College, Hobart), Anne Foale (ACEL Tasmanian Branch President), Craig Deayton (Sacred Heart College, New Town).

Mandy Reynolds-Smith and Trish Hindmarsh were also inducted as new Fellows of the Association, and Jeff Thomas, Adam Jones and Jaimi-Lee Armstrong were awarded New Voice Scholarships.

Mrs Foale says the awards recognised teachers and educational leaders who went above and beyond in their duties.

“These leaders become more than educators, they become enablers of those who educate and those who learn,” she said.

“They create communities of learning and cultures that adapt to and embrace change.”

Pictured: Award recipients: L - R: Craig Deayton, Lindsey Hills, Anne Foale, Chris Hoare, Tasmanian Catholic Education Office Director John Mula, Simon Lane, Jacqui Lawless.